top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCindy Valleen

Day 5: On the road in Minneapolis

Updated: Jun 7, 2019

June 1st, 2019



I'm not sure taking pictures from the car window really qualifies as "being outside," but today I am making an exception.

According to the Meet Minneapolis website, https://www.minneapolis.org/things-to-do/nature-outdoors/editorial, if you are in the city of Minneapolis, the longest distance you will have to walk to get to one of the city's 197 parks is six blocks.

Can this be true? I haven't had the chance to try it yet. But "yet" is the keyword in that sentence and I will find a day this summer to take on the challenge. Minneapolis is known to be a great city for people who like to get outside. There are bike paths, and lakes, and (I've just learned) 197 parks. I knew I loved this town!


Most Beautiful Parks

I am particularly fond of #lakeharriet, which has a lovely pavilion and picnic area. It also has a bike/running path that connects with Lake Calhoun.


I also love #minnehahapark. Minnehaha Falls is the main attraction here, and it is spectacular. Although he never actually visited the falls, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow helped to make the falls famous with his poem, Song of Hiawatha, which was published in 1855. Here is an excerpt:


Ye who love the haunts of Nature, Love the sunshine of the meadow, Love the shadow of the forest, Love the wind among the branches, And the rain-shower and the snow-storm, And the rushing of great rivers Through their palisades of pine-trees, And the thunder in the mountains, Whose innumerable echoes Flap like eagles in their eyries;— Listen to these wild traditions, To this Song of Hiawatha!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page