top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCindy Valleen

Day 18: For the Birds

Friday, June 14th, 5:00am


Up before the sun, these birds were singing outside my window this morning. Not much to look at here, but turn your listening ears on. Can you identify these birds?


Websites with information on how to identify bird songs:

https://www.dnr.state.mn.us/mcvmagazine/bird_songs_interactive/index.html is by the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources and features a picture. When you click on the different birds in the picture, you hear their songs.


https://www.naturebits.org/alphabetic.php has a huge listing of North American birds and you can listen by family or alphabetical order. I could stay on this website for a long time; it's fun to hear so many different bird songs.


I do know some bird songs. Ducks, geese, and crows are easy to identify. I also know the songs of chickadees and red-winged blackbirds. Some of my favorites are morning doves and loons. When it's quiet, sometimes you can hear loons from downtown. It's such a wild and magical sound!


I listened carefully to many bird songs featured on the websites, but I am still not sure what birds woke me up this morning.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page