top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCindy Valleen

Day 17: What started it all

Thursday, June 13th, 2019

The May issue of Outside Magazine

It is a beautiful day outside today and I'm reflecting on how this project got started and what an amazing seventeen days it has been.


Last month, Outside Magazine featured a great article about the "nature cure" and how doctors are actually prescribing time outside to patients. It goes on to explain how many of us are suffering from, what could be called, a "nature-deficit disorder" and there are many reasons doctors are prescribing time outside as a remedy.


"Exposure to natural stimuli lowers blood pressure, reduces stress-hormone levels, promotes physical healing, bolsters immune-system function, raises self-esteem, improves mood, curtails the need for painkillers, and reduces inflammation." Wow! When I read that, I decided at that moment to make a change in my lifestyle and get outside more often.


And so far it has been a great decision. I've learned a lot already. I now have something to look forward to every day: my time outside is educational and fun too. My plan is to continue making time to get outside and maybe even upgrade: not just getting out, but start including exercising and other outdoor activities like camping. Great adventures are ahead!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page