top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCindy Valleen

Day 15: Snowing in June?

June 11, 2019

Grove of cottonwood trees
Cottonwood trees near Ramsey Beach

I grew up in an area with a lot of oak trees, and I always thought they were big. Since then, I've discovered that cottonwood trees can grow to a much, much larger size. In fact, cottonwood trees are the largest trees in Minnesota. When I'm in an area with cottonwood trees, such as this one near Ramsey Beach, I can't help but stop and marvel at the sheer size of them.

Cottonwood trees release their seeds in mid-May to mid-June. The seeds have cottony hairs attached and can be carried by the wind for miles. In some areas, there is so much fluff blowing around, it almost appears to be snowing.

Importance of Cottonwood Trees

Even though we may find the white fluff annoying this time of year, there are benefits to having cottonwood trees around. Because they are taller than the other trees, bald eagles often make their nests in the branches. Bees use the resin that surrounds cottonwood tree buds to plaster the inside of their hives. This helps to protect the hive by sealing up cracks and protecting the bees from any pathogens that might get in.


I find myself awe-inspired every time I stop to really appreciate cottonwood trees.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page